Aside

because I liked…

5 Oct

because I liked the end results of my failed hair dying excursion, I just had to dye my hair again the next day. It gave me a chocolate, warm color that I super duper loved!!! and went to sleep trying to plan out how to dye my hair. haha
I’ll blog about my mini quest. I went to a total of two salons today before I found one in my budget. went to one that is across the street from my school and the lady gave me a side glance before she told me it’s $80 to dye my whole head. like wtf? my great aunt who came here a in 98′, did a perm and dyed her bob ish hair length and it only costs $60 which I thought was reasonable since it’s a perm.
I know times have changed and prices are not recession proof but I KNOW a dye job would not and should not cost more than $60 because hair dye they use, still comes from a box and the stuff inside, they sell in it stores for about $10 each (and at most for each bottles; I’m talking the dye, developer, extra shine/boost/serum, and conditioner). AND, since my hair is asian hair, any dye job will result in an orange=y look after some weeks if you dye your hair some kind of brown/blond. OF COURSE, there’s exception and sometimes people have awesome hair, and they do follow up treatments and consistency use some kind of conditioner and whatever.
so yeah, I will not spend and should not spend about $100 for a dye job when my hair is medium length. and I could do the whole thing manually with a $12-13 ( at most) hair dying box kit. It would take a shorter amount of time too. of course, I’d need help and it might get messy.

so yeah, 2nd salon I checked out. the lady told me it cost $35 to dye my whole head. bingo! then I asked her how much it’d cost to dye half. then I’m guessing her boss or superior walked out and they started speaking in spanish in front of me. I caught the gist of it; basically she told the fist lady that $35 for the whole head is too inexpensive and that she should have told me more. she then proceeded to tell me that two dye jobs would be $45 but if I want to dye the bottom half and back of my head, or the whole head, it’d costs $35 each. I kinda gave her the look and asked her to make both dye jobs $40 😀
she didn’t say yes, but she asked me the colors I want and then gave me a book to look through.
so fast forward a little. as she put dye on my head and through my hair, I noticed my scalp burning a bit because my head felt hot.

story got cut off here as I was typing because I went to do a 5000 piece puzzle with my sissy.

so after sitting there for like 40 minute (twice the time amount the box allocates for). knowing my hair color, I would have left it for 40 mins too.

after 30 mins, the lady came back to me to check on the hair and then blow dry it. because heat helps the color absorb into the hair (if this makes sense) and it speeds up the process too. when she checked and rubbed off some color, it wasn’t to my liking so she put more chemical into the back of my head lol.

anywhoos, I really like how it came out. I don’t think the color is even. meaning, the roots on the top of my head are lighter than the strands then I noticed that when she was supposed to dye the base of my head, it looked like she kinda just blotched my hair. lol if that makes sense.but there are some heavy streaks more on the righter side of the back on my head. and, it’s not the blond that I wanted it to be but some kinda copper brown. which is cool because blond with my overall hair color would look tacky I think. plus, it’s some subtle surprise if someone ever looks through my hair. hehes

 

WELL. I’m about to end this after this comment. so I’ve been home since 3ish pm, mom came home around5 ish pm and DID NOT NOTICE MY HAIR COLOR CHANGE AT ALL! now, if you have not caught on, my natural hair color is black. and this color is a light bronze, copper mix. lol
now, we have spoken to each other since she came home. but I don’t know if it’s because she did see it and didn’t care to comment on it or the fact that she didn’t notice or looked at all.

it makes me kind of nervous and jittery when she does “find out” because she’s probably going to be a bit dramatic… but oh wells.

I won’t be home tomorrow so it might take a few days.

I would love to use this post pictures feature but I’m not really into giving the internet a visual or personality other than what I write. (or as of yet anyways).

oh yeah, I paid the lady $40 + $1 because that’s all I really had in my wallet!! lmao I know, it’s so sad but when I did the price haggling I was pretty sure I had a ten or a five. but when it was time to pay, I’m like this is so awkward. But! I always say, tip is a courtesy not a requirement. so boop! too bad. lol there was nothing I could have done. since it doesn’t take cards I noticed.

anywhooos ta-ta. =)

comments, thoughts, opinions?

